"With a layered mystery, a haunting setting, and thrilling tension, What Big Teeth has an otherness to it that pulls you in and forces you to keep reading." —Tricia Levenseller, Publisher’s Weekly-bestselling author of The Shadows Between Us

Rose Szabo's thrilling debut is a dark fantasy novel about a teen girl who returns home to her strange, wild family after years of estrangement, perfect for fans of Wilder Girls.

Eleanor Zarrin has been estranged from her wild family for years. When she flees boarding school after a horrifying incident, she goes to the only place she thinks is safe: the home she left behind. But when she gets there, she struggles to fit in with her monstrous relatives, who prowl the woods around the family estate and read fortunes in the guts of birds.

Eleanor finds herself desperately trying to hold the family together—in order to save them all, Eleanor must learn to embrace her family of monsters and tame the darkness inside her.

Exquisitely terrifying, beautiful, and strange, this fierce gothic fantasy will sink its teeth into you and never let go.

 

"Deliciously gothic and wonderfully creepy." — The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, STARRED REVIEW

 

"Szabo packs so much into this strange, compelling, enchanting book: gorgeous imagery, dextrous use of tropes, a mythic streak, and a surprising physicality ... What Big Teeth more than lives up to the promise of its striking cover—it’s an unforgettable debut by an author to watch." — Tor.com

What Big Teeth by Rose Szabo

$18.99Price
  • Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) 2021

    New hardcover

    400 Pages

    Ages 14-18