Lee Morgan (trumpet), Wayne Shorter (tenor sax), Bobby Timmons (piano), Jymie Merritt (bass), and Art Blakey (drums). This was one of Blakey's strongest line ups ever. A powerful and highly dynamic combo featuring young and yet very distinctive personalities driven by Blakey's unprecedented force of nature. Hard bop fans will be delighted by the re-release of this famous concert held in Lausanne (Switzerland) in 1960, where the second set featured, among others, an intense rendition of Monk's classic "'Round About Midnight" and the famous inflamed take on "A Night In Tunisia".


Track Listing:
01. Announcement (1:30)
02. It's Only A Papermoon (12:13)
03. 'Round About Midnight (10:03)
04. The Summit (8:22)
05. A Night In Tunisia (10:39)
06. This Here (10:26)

Art Blakey & the Jazz Messengers, "The Second Set Lausanne 1960"

Out of Stock
  • New LP

    Naked Lunch Records (Italy)